Back in the waiting game…


Ok… so we got through the surgery!  Phew!  Now we’re back in the waiting game to hear the results of the biopsy!  The surgeon told me that the biopsy only determines what kind of treatment Patty will need for the remainder of the fight.  Let’s just pray that other than the one lymph node we know of that had cancer cells, the others are clear.  That would make the treatment phase for Patty much easier.  As Patty said last night: “Either way, it is what it is and I just have to deal with whatever treatment they want me to have!”  Patty really has a good positive attitude which is so important right now.  Like I’ve said so many times before in this blog, she’s still terrified, but she’s also ready to fight.

Patty only spent one night in the hospital and came home on Friday afternoon.  She was in quite a bit of pain Friday night going in to Saturday morning.  Needless to say, we had a long night.  But it was still good to have her home!  Then Saturday afternoon rolled around and suddenly she got her color back and it was very obvious that she had turned the corner!  Since then, she’s been getting  better and stronger every day!  She even had part of a cocktail last night which definitely tells me she’ s on the mend!  I think one thing that has really helped in her recovery is the fact that she’s an avid Jazzerciser!  She Jazzercises at least 4 times a week (must be nice to be retired!).  She in really good shape!

Patty’s sister, Kathy, came out from Prescott, Az, to give us a hand this week!  She’s been such a huge help!  “Alone time” has not been a good time for Patty.  This is when her mind wonders and she get’s scared.  Kathy is keeping her busy, and in doing so, she’s keeping those “demon’s” at bay!!!  Thanks Kathy!

So… Patty’s next doctor’s appointment is Monday, 8/9, sometime in the afternoon.  Hopefully we get good news!

3 thoughts on “Back in the waiting game…

  1. Hi Patty & Ed-
    Since I heard of Patty’s diagnosis, just a short time ago, I have had you both on my mind and in my prayers every day. Reading your blog really touched every level of emotion, and knowing you both, made it very real. There’s so much strength and positivity in both of you. Patty, you have a sparkle that will break through and out shine any old “dark cloud” and Ed, well ,hey, face it, he’s a Rock!! I wholly believe that together, you’ll face down this cancer, and you know that there’s a million hearts sending their love your way~ well, probably more than that !!! XXX000

    • Hi Patty and Ed: Wow, I am just speechless, yes I know that is hard to believe. I have thought of you both ever since I heard and you two are too strong to let this get you down–I will keep praying and thank you for letting us know how this all was going. I am looking forward to talking to Patty soon.

  2. I am so glad you are writing this long journey out so all of us can follow you;. Patty is such a star and has so much positive energy and the two of you make everything work so well. You are in all of our prayers and I know Patty will be well soon. We all have our arms around you both and know that this will be a positive outcome for you. Sending you all our love,
    Les and Sandi

Leave a comment