Tic, Tic, Tic…


I have to say, this waiting game is torture! My post-op appointment isn’t until 3:45 this afternoon… it’s like having my surgery late in the day. It just sucks! There’s a lot of riding on this afternoon’s appointment…

I’ve done really well this week trying to put things into perspective. I’ve kept really busy every day. Ironic, whenever my father was a little stressed, he’d go into the garage and build something. It didn’t matter what he built, he just had to do something to take his mind off whatever issue was at hand. I can remember as a child coming home from school and asking my mom where dad was. If she said “Oh, he’s in the garage building something” I always knew something was up with dad. Well, the fruit doesn’t fall far from the tree sometimes because instinctively that’s what I did this week. I’ve been a woodworking fool. Everything I did this week had a beach theme to it… I’ve knocked out two wooden seagulls, three mermaids, a starfish wall hanging and have another “fish thing” in the works. Not quite sure what to call it yet. It’s been really therapeutic for me and had completely made my mind stay focused on creativity as opposed to the “scare” at hand.

photo(36)photo(35)photo(34)

I was planning on working on the “fish thing” today but I just don’t have any enthusiasm to touch it. “Mr. Elephant in the room” has paid me a visit and I’m having a difficult time asking him to leave. I slept well last night. In fact, probably the best sleep I’ve had all week. But, when I woke up, there he was sitting on the edge of the bed.

Poor Patty… she’s trying to be upbeat and really, I’m trying the same.  We’ve all been through something like this in our lifetime where the waiting game drives you crazy.  Maybe not a cancer scare but I’m confident you know what I’m talking about.  So what better thing to do to keep busy… make a Costco run!  We just got back and it wasn’t the same.  It was too early for them to have the “snacks” out yet!

OK… four hours and 21 minutes to go!  Plus, jokingly I was telling Patty that even though we’ll get there on time, the doctor will always be late!  ARGH!  Oh well, I don’t want to be a whiner about this. Suck it up Ed and be a big boy. 3:45 will come soon enough and hopefully it’s going to be good news…

I’ll keep you posted!!!

By the way… I take requests for wood crafts for your yard!

4 thoughts on “Tic, Tic, Tic…

  1. Watch the comedy channel – some of the acts are really funny! I so hope you get some good news and that the Doc doesn’t keep you waiting. Give Patty my best and wish her a Happy Mum’s Day for me. Keep the blogs coming I think this really helps people that are going through what you have or know people that are dealing with a challenge. Take care, Christine

  2. Hello Friend,
    I so understand every emotion you’re feeling. So does Patty. I love that you’re wood working because unrequested advice was going to be stay in the moment. Living with stage 4 cancer now I find myself drifting off to horrid places. I pause and look at my feet, I take note of where I am and who I’m with. In this present moment all is well. I’m not sick, or dying. Neither are you. Even in case of receiving the worst possible news, you are here now and healthy Ed. It will definitely take a minute or months to adjust to all that’s been dropped in your lap. I mean waking up with a missing part of your body was a solid blow for sure. Let yourself feel the feelings and pass through the stages. I even went to the beach and planned my suicide because that’s where I was at and what I was feeling 9 months ago. Thank God I don’t feel that way anymore.
    You and patty have helped me so much. If there’s anything I can do for you, I’m here. Many prayers and lots of love. Remember, right here, right, everything is perfect.
    Love to both of you.
    Michele

    • Michele I so admire you and Nico and what you’re going through and how you deal with things. Your attitude is always upbeat and it’s obvious that you are always living in the “now!” Whatever the news today I’m confident that Patty and I will adjust and do whatever we need to do to get through this. Like I said in an earlier post, it’s just another bump in the road… Thank you so much for your support and being a living model to us of having the right attitude! We’ll talk soon!

      Ed

  3. Ok Ed. I want you to make a bright pink flamingo for me with my name on it but then you must put it in your yard. So everytime you look at it you think of me and my bright color fedish(however you spell it) I am sending positive thoughts your way and it is 4:40 here so you are late for your appointment!!!!

Leave a Reply

