Good new and bad news = Encouraging news!


OK… what a long ass day!  Sorry to put it that way, but sometimes it is what it is!

As expected, we arrived at 3:30 pm for my 3:45 pm appointment hoping in the back of my mind that the doctor would take us in a little early.  Nope… We ended up seeing him around 4:25.  Patty and I were sitting in the waiting room for a while when the doctor walked by.  He saw us sitting there and took a second look then waked over.  He immediately apologized saying they don’t have the results of the biopsy.  In my head I’m thinking WHAT???  But I never let it show on my face… at least I don’t think I did.  He continued saying that he’d explain more when we met.  So, we sat and waited another half hour.  Sure I was disappointed that the results weren’t back yet, but I was a little concerned with his mannerisms.  Patty said I was thinking too much and maybe I was, but it was still what I was feeling.

We finally got in around 4:25 pm.  He said that he had put a rush on my biopsy after the surgery.  The pathologists did the rush and actually came up with their conclusions but weren’t 100% sure.  So he said “since this is a rare form of cancer and they want to be sure what we’re dealing with, so they sent my slides to the pathology Department at the University of Indiana for a 2nd opinion.  Apparently there is a pathologist at the UOI that is a renown pathologist that actually developed the current method of treating testicular cancer.  This pathologist accepts biopsy slides from around the world to give his opinion.  It sounds like this pathologist is the guru of all pathologists in this field so getting his opinion is a good thing!!!  Even better, the doctor said in his opinion by removing my one testicle with the tumor he feels that if the results come back the way he hopes they will, we’re done.  There will be no further treatment!  No chemo.  No radiation.  No nothing!!!

So… this is very encouraging news for us!  He said the results will take about two weeks.  I have my next appointment on Friday, May 22nd at 8:30 a.m.  Let’s keep the prayers coming that the news will be good!

Thank you everyone for your support!!!

3 thoughts on “Good new and bad news = Encouraging news!

Leave a Reply

