Distractions are golden!


Patty and I have been spinning the past few days over this latest turn of events.  As I’ve been saying, Patty’s frustration level has pretty much max’d.  I’ve been frustrated but I’ve also been at my wit’s end over a number of things.

Going back a couple of days… This past Monday, Patty called me when she learned that she was scheduled for a sonogram the following day.  Needless to say she was somewhat upset.  I zipped home to talk with her and reassure her that things were going to be ok.  We talked for a short time then Patty suggested we take a walk.  (As you know she’s starting to train for the Komen walk in November.)   That particular day was very hot with the temperature at our house hovering around 101 degrees!  She suggested we go down to the beach where the temps should be cooler.  As we drove to the beach, which is about a 15 minute drive from our house, Patty suggested that we take the walk  from Torrey Pines State Beach to La Jolla.  She said her sister had made this walk many times and really liked it.  Hey… Sounded good to me!

We were fortunate to find a parking place at the beach and maybe it being a Monday afternoon worked in our favor.  I got out of the car and realized the temperature was in the mid 70’s, so much nicer than inland at our house!  In fact, it was slightly overcast!  Perfect walking weather.  Patty wanted to get in a good six miles, which is in the neighborhood of a 90 minute walk.  We decided we’d walk south on the beach for 45 minutes then turn around and walk 45 minutes back to our car.  The beach wasn’t crowded at all.  We enjoyed watching people in the water, kids making sand castles and the hang gliders floating over Torrey Pines.  We were a good 30 minutes into our walk in an area that was somewhat secluded.  We could see people off in the distance ahead of us.  Suddenly Patty motions towards a man probably 50 yards ahead of us and asked: “Is that man naked?”  I looked and not wearing my glasses responded: “No… I think he’s just wearing a loose sweater!”   Patty looked at me like I was crazy.  We continued our walk.  As we got closer to the man, my eyes were able to focus better…. Yep!  He was naked!  He was walking around and in-between some fairly large boulders.  He wasn’t bothering anyone so we just walked by keeping our eyes forward.  We walked a few more yards and saw a man standing in the ocean in about a foot of water with an easel in front of him painting a seascape… naked!  Ok… he wore a baseball cap and a tank top, but other than that… naked!  Suddenly we were swarmed with nakedness from every angle!  It then dawned on me that we were at the infamous Blacks Beach, one of San Diego’s few nude beaches!  How this happened… I’ll never know!  I looked at my watch and we were now 35 minutes into our walk.  We still had another ten minutes to go until we could turn around.  No big… nudists don’t bother me nor Patty… we’ll just continue on our walk to the half way point, another ten minutes away.  And we did!  At one point I joked like I was taking off my shorts.  The expression on Patty’s face was priceless.  I did make an interesting observation during this 10 minute walk… there were probably fifty to sixty naked men in this stretch of beach and not one woman!  There were big naked men, short naked men, naked fat men, naked skinny men, naked hairy men, naked young men, naked old men, naked tan men, naked white men, naked black men, naked men with long hair, naked bald men,  naked men with tattoos… but not one woman!  What’s up with that?  We finally got to the 45 minute mark of our walk and… we had the privilege of turning around and going through the naked mine field again!

We finished our 90 minute walk and returned to our car.  We had a good laugh about the whole experience.

I learned something that afternoon… I now know what to do with Patty if she’s having a bad day!   If a good laugh at Blacks Beach doesn’t get her mind off things, nothing will!

5 thoughts on “Distractions are golden!

  1. Patty, if I ever come for a visit can we please go to the beach…..I am laughting so hard I have tears in my eyes. Yes, the lady that freaked out at seeing a woman breast feed her infant….
    Latonia
    P.s. my secret is that I am blonde like marilyn monroe…..I look smashing….love and miss you.

  2. I remember back in 1975 just before I went to basic training, my friends and I took a last walk on the beach from La Jolla toward Blacks Beach. We saw a rather large man sitting on the rocks, as we approached he stood up and he was totally naked. His stomach had completely covered him as he was sitting. It was pretty gross, but I’ve never forgotten the day. Definitely works as a distraction.

    Love U Guys, Kathy

  3. Hi guys, wrote a really long reply to Ed’s last e-mail. Really inspiring regarding Patty’s latest turn of events…spell checked it and hit send! That’s where it got lost. Anyhow, this Black’s Beach is totally a funny story – yep, unless it is a super model naked beaches, can be kind of rough on the eyes. Everyone’s “junk” is not equal. No eye candy like Brad Pitt or George Clooney…and definitely sounds like there were no Pam Anderson’s either. Speaking of Pam, I hear she had her implants put in a removed 3x’s just for the heck of it. On vacation, so I went to Disneyland yesterday….where everyone keeps there clothes on….thank goodness. Th new side is called California Adventure…loved it. They have winery type restaurants on that side. You have to check it out sometime!!!!

    Take care,
    Christine

  4. Next time you go you might get to see the naked volleyball game! Keep your eyes focused on the ball…uh, I mean the VOLLEYBALL!

    Love, Dottie

Leave a Reply

