A year later…


Nearly one year ago when Patty had her first chemotherapy infusion.

Today is a landmark day for me… exactly one year ago I started writing this blog.  Over seven thousand hit’s later, it’s going strong.

Today’s personal achievement made me reflect over the past year… and it’s been quite a ride for the two of us.   Patty and I have experienced so many  ups and downs over the past year, but I realized that the “downs”  really make you appreciate the “ups” when they arrive!

At first, the ups and down seemed to change daily but it seemed like the “downs” were winning!  The “suspicious lump” (down), the actual diagnosis (down), the faulty PET Scan (down), the CAT Scan that disproved the cancer had matastasized (Huge UP), the mastectomy (down and an up), Patty’s quick recovery from the surgery (Huge up), Chemotherapy (down and up), Patty shaving her head before chemo got it (down)… I could go on and on, but the bottom line is… here it is over one year later and Patty is doing so well. (definitely the biggest UP of them all!!!)

Patty’s recovering from her reconstruction surgery.  Sure, she has some pain related to it, but she’s getting stronger everyday.  She does tire easily, but that’s expected.  Her sister Kathy is staying with us this week to help out.  Believe me, her being here is such a help!

So one year of blogging.  A year ago I didn’t even know what a blog was, let alone write one!   But over seven thousand hit from literally around the world is an accomplishment for me.  I really realize the power of the internet as I’m getting hits from Athens, London, Russia, Bucharest, Melbourne, Punjab, Canada to name a few and countless cities across the United States.  I’m hoping this blog is helping others who are newly diagnosed or the caregiver for someone with cancer.  It may not have all the answers, but it relays how Patty and I have dealt with the day to day trials of living with breast cancer.

I’m shooting for another year…  to be continued!

2 thoughts on “A year later…

Leave a Reply

