There’s no place like home!


What an exciting couple of weeks this has been for me and Patty.  Exciting, but a lot of work.  I had forgotten just how draining a move can be!

I have to say, coordinating the sale and closing of the condo with the purchase and closing of the new house went as smooth as anyone could ask for.  The condo closed one day and the house closed two days later.  Not one hitch!

Patty did a lot of the packing of the condo while I was at work.  She did a great job other than packing a few of the boxes with more than one human could lift.  I had a ton of help from my son Steven and my son-in-law, Joey.  We rented a 26 foot truck.  One would think a 26 footer would be more than enough truck to handle all our things, but between the condo and what we had in storage, it took two trips.  We started moving around 11:00 a.m. and ended at straight up 7:00 p.m.  Needless to say, I was one tired puppy by the end of the day!

From the moment we were told that our mortgage recorded at the County Recorders office and we unlocked the front door to our new home, we knew buying this house was the right decision.  It just felt right!  It felt like home!  Our home!  Now, over the past week, we’ve put a dent in unpacking boxes and little by little it’s taking shape.  Quite honestly, it’s looking pretty awesome!  I wish I knew where the camera was so I could post some pictures of what we’ve done.  I’m sure the camera is packed in some box in the garage.  The question is… Which box?

This house just screams: “Let’s entertain!”  Well, tomorrow is Easter Sunday.  Patty’s so excited to show off the house, she’s invited the whole family for Easter dinner… 15 people total.  It’ll be great to have our first party which I’m sure will be the first of many to parties to come!

Patty is doing really well in her recovery.  She’s been training for the Komen walk in November and has been attending training walks with a group a couple times a week.

Patty took a big step forward in her recovery this week.  She’s decided to no longer wear a wig.  This is a big step for her!  She does’t need the wig anymore.  Her hair is coming in as thick as you could imagine.  It’s at least a quarter of an inch now and it looks really really good!  I’ve been pushing her for a few weeks now to go au-natural.  But, she needed to do it on her time.  So, this week she finally said: “That’s it!  I’m done.”   She said she feels a little self-conscious at times, but I don’t know why.  She’s looks gorgeous as usual!

Patty got an email the other day from the Susan G. Komen for the Cure in San Diego.  Major League Baseball is honoring breast cancer survivors on Mother’s Day, Mary 8th.  They’re asking for as many breast cancer survivors as possible to go to the Padre vs. Diamondback’s game that afternoon.  All the survivors will be honored on the field before the game!   Patty is so excited to be on the field with her “Sisters” that afternoon!  I’ll be so proud to watch her!  I’ll do all I can to find the darned camera before then so I can post pictures after the event!

Sorry for no pictures for this post.  I’ll have some new ones on her soon!

Until then… life is good!

3 thoughts on “There’s no place like home!

  1. Congratulations on the new house! What an exciting way to start the next chapter of your lives!

    And YAY for Patty ditching the wig. I really hated mine, and really only wore it to avoid the shock value for other people. When I went back to work in January, I wore it for the first two weeks. On the MLK Jr. holiday, I knew there would be very few people around at the office, so I went without it, and never looked back.

    Have a wonderful Easter celebration in your new home celebrating new life!

    Kathy

  2. Woo Hoo! You’re in! Can’t wait to see the new hacienda. It will surely be filled with lots of love and laughter soon.

    Love,
    Christine

  3. Happy Easter my dear friends. Called and wished you a Happy Easter, hope you got my message. Need your address. Glad the move went smoothly. Do you have another number we can reach you Still hoping we can come for a visit soon. Send me your address and phone number….working on your gift. Love you Sandi and Less

Leave a Reply

