Public speaking!


Patty received a phone call from a woman last night representing the American Cancer Society Relay for Life.  If you remember from an earlier blog, Patty is the featured speaker at their Kickoff Night in two weeks.  The woman called to get a feel for Patty and what she was going to talk about.  The woman said they’ve had speakers in the past who have offered to speak then realized once in front of everyone, speaking about something as traumatic as their experience with breast cancer wasn’t an easy task.  Patty had address a group of people back in August of last year, just two weeks after her mastectomy, and did an amazing job.  Patty  is a very confident woman and that confidence exudes from her when she does any kind of public speaking.   It took the woman no time at all to realize Patty would do a great job.

Patty is one who cannot sit still when she talks on the phone.  She’ll wander randomly throughout the house while gabbing away!  My son, Steven, and I used to get a kick when Patty was on the phone and would sometimes bet on how many laps she could do throughout the house before she hung up.  That trait of hers hasn’t ended.  Patty was all over our little condo last night.  I could overhear her conversation with the woman and at one point I heard her say “My husband is a great public speaker… he’d love to!”  I was in the living room thinking “Oh God, what has she gotten me into now!”  Patty continued: “Oh you’ll love him!  He was my rock!”  Now I knew exactly what she had done!  And she had done it without even asking me!!!  She got off the phone shortly thereafter, came back into the living room and said:  “Okay… it’s all set.  You’re speaking right after me!”  She was so proud of herself!  I said:  “Thanks for checking with me first!”  She replied: “Oh come on… you’re  a great public speaker!  You know you want to!”  Okay… she was right.  I’ve always loved being the center of attention!

So on Thursday night, March 24th, Patty and I are going to give this group the “One/Two punch!”  It should be fun.  I think the two of us could really make an impact.  Maybe this is the start of a new career!  Wish us luck!

One thought on “Public speaking!

  1. GOOD LUCK!!!! BUY WHO NEEDS IT. YOU TWO ARE A NATURAL…. I WISH I WAS GOING TO BE THERE. I’D BRING MY POM POMS LOVE THE PACING, I DO THE SAME. LOVE YOU GUYS YOU ARE MY HEROS… SANDI AND LES

Leave a Reply

