What a weekend!


Getting into the swing of the “new normal” has been a learning experience for both Patty and I.  We’re finding the “new normal” is pretty similar to the “old normal” with a much better appreciation of life.  I know that sounds a little cliché but it’s true. You suddenly have an appreciation for so many things you used to take for granted.  I know I’m feeling it and I’m positive Patty is feeling that “appreciation” as I am, times ten!   Facing the possibility of death is without a doubt one of the biggest gut checks a person can ever ponder.  When you’re in the throes of it, you weigh all the “what if’s” and try go forward a day at a time.  Sometimes you need to take it an hour at a time.  This is all behind us for the time being.  It still lingers now and then, but we’re both trying to live our lives the best we can and take in as much as possible!

 With that said… Patty is doing really really well.  My wife is back!  She is just go go go everyday.  Avery keeps her busy and by the end of the day, Patty is whipped!  She still has a healthy appetite and somehow gains no weight!  I don’t know how she does it!   I need to take a picture of her hair.  It’s coming in but it’s a slow process.  I’m guessing it’s about a quarter of an inch in length.  I was joking with her yesterday morning saying she woke up with “bed head!”  Hey… it made her laugh! 

This was quite an eventful weekend for us.  We’ll start with the big news… Our daughter Kristi had her baby Saturday afternoon!  Yes… Kennedy Claire Davis… 8 pounds, 6 ounces of pure preciousness!  It was a long night and day for Kristi and Ryan but the payoff was Kennedy!  Patty and I now have three grandchildren, all girls!  We’re good with that!  

These pictures were taken shortly after her birth.  Look at that thick head of hair!  She looks so much like Kristi when she was born.

Little Kennedy had some minor issues when she was born and is being closely monitored in the NICU at Sharp Hospital.  She’ll be fine and hopefully Kristi and Ryan will be able to bring her home soon! 

Then, we have other news… we found a house and are opening escrow today!  It’s been quite an exhaustive search.  We must have looked at 40+ homes over the past month!  House hunting is pretty discouraging!  Prices… location… etc.  We feel we were pretty lucky to find this home… not a short sale… not a foreclosure!  We’re really excited to have a real “home” again.  Sure the condo worked, but after a while it was getting pretty cramped.  The new house has over 1700 square feet and 4 bedrooms.  We’ll be able to have guests again!!!  Pack your bags and come on over!  We’ll even have a real back yard again!  I never thought I’d be looking forward to yard work, but I can’t wait!  I’ve actually missed it!   Here are a few pictures…

We’re scheduled to close right around April 15th (Tax Day!) and if things work out right, we’ll  be moving in, that weekend!

Patty predicted that 2011 was going to be a great year.  So far she’s been right on track!  Things are looking up!

3 thoughts on “What a weekend!

  1. Hey Ed/Patty –

    That’s GREAT news and CONGRATULATIONS on the newest granddaughter Kennedy, the new house and Patty’s new hair growth! I love you guys! Take it you didn’t find this house in Chula Vista?? Oh well, it’s beautiful and with four rooms I’m sure there’s a place for a Chula Vistan to crash if they came to visit. Can’t wait to see you both I’m sure the next few months will be busy. Love getting these automated updates!

    Love Christine

  2. The Baby is Beautiful. She is just perfect. Congratulations to you all. I love the house. It’s beautiful and so happy you are in Escrow. As a side note, Les and I moved into our home on April 15th, 2000. It’s good luck. Thanks for sharing the pictures. Love you guys and we will be visiting. Wine on the patio? Love you Sandi and Les

  3. Kennedy is beautiful – great pictures. I hope she is home soon. I guess I was distracted talking to Patty and missed the part about finding a house- where is it? It looks really nice and I hope escrow goes smoothly. I look forward to seeing it. Like all your houses I know you will make into a warm and welcoming home. Love You. K.

Leave a Reply

