Kauai in June!!’


Monday morning… It’s pushing 11:30 a.m. We’ve been at the hospital for about an hour now. We’re in the pre-op room. Right now Patty is wearing her paper gown hooked up to some kind of heater attached to the gown like an astronaut pre-orbit suit! It’s keeping her nice and warm! They just took all her vitals and everything is great! Blood pressure is low… Temp is normal and oxygen level is 100%! She did tell me earlier that she was feeling pretty weak this morning from the chemo.

Patty is pretty scared this morning! I’m doing what I can to keep her mind occupied but she still gets weepy at times. I have to say that i married on tough woman! She allowed to be frightened at times! We’ll get through this today and keep going forward. I told her to just remember… three more chemo infusions to go… two grandchildren and one more on its way… one day at a time… and a partridge in a pear tree!!! (i throw things in like that to test if she’s listening… she generally tunes me out!). The good news is that they moved her surgery up an hour, from 1:00 p.m. to noon! It’ll last about an hour… Recovery for an hour… Then we ho home. Hopefully we’ll be home around 4 or so.

This round of chemo was pretty rough on Patty. Saturday being the hardest day! It really took her for a loop! She was so fatigued and weak… she actually passed out! That was pretty scary for both of us!!! I learned I need to really keep a closer eye on her on those days!

We’ve decided that when all is said and done, we’re going back to Kauai for a couple weeks!! Probably in June. I think we’ve earned it!

Well, she’s going to be going into surgery soon. I’ll keep you posted on how things go.

Ok… it’s now a little after 5:00 p.m.  It turned out that moving the surgery up an hour didn’t work!  The surgeon was running behind so they didn’t get Patty in until just before 1:00 p.m.  I hung out in the waiting room and the surgeon came out about 1:45 p.m. and said “She did great!  Everything went as planned!”  That was good news.  I hate waiting while I know my wife is in the other room, sedated, with a surgeon digging around inside her!  It always seems like the minutes go by like hours!  But, this was quick.  The surgeon left and I waited in the room some more.  A nurse came and got me around 2:30 p.m.  I went into the recovery room and there she was… bright eyed and bushy tailed!  You’d never know she just had surgery!  She was all smiles (I think that was because she was relieved the procedure was over!)  She looked at me and said she felt great and was ready to go home!  Wow!  What a shocker.  I expected to find my wife all grogged out and on the verge of throwing up!  But, nope!  She was feeling good!  She got dressed and we were home by 3:00 p..m.  I wish all surgeries went like this.  She’s now plopped on the couch drinking a berry smoothie talking to her sister, Kathy, on the phone.  She’s back to normal!

Ok… now that that’s over, we can get back to the “fight!”

3 thoughts on “Kauai in June!!’

  1. Hi Ed –
    Praying Patty’s surgery goes well and you both are home resting comfortably this evening. My treatments are only a day behind Patty’s, so I can totally relate to how she felt on Saturday. Yesterday was my worst day yet, and this 3rd round has been more difficult. I’ve got just one more to go, and another surgery between that last chemo and starting radiation. Sure sounds like we’re on a similar path!
    You’re doing a great job taking care of her! Just remember every day is another step toward health.
    Godspeed,
    Kathy

  2. I think you’ve earned it too! What a beautiful island to regroup and re-energize and celebrate, more than grandchildren, more than anniversary, more than the love you feel, but to celebrate the two of you. Yes, you both have earned it!

    It is now around 7 and I can picture you two in that lovely livingroom, enjoying the quite and happy today is past and this surgery is over. It was wonderful talking to you the other night Patty and when you feel like calling, I am here. We love you, Sandi and Les

Leave a Reply

