T.G.I.F.!!!


Patty and Nicole… Notice the “baby bump!”  She’s due any day now… the tummy is much bigger!

 

 

 

Thank God it’s Friday!  It’s been quite a week.   If someone would have told me six months ago that our life would be so upside-down right now, I’d tell them they were crazy!  Everything was going so well.  Patty retired.   We moved back to San Diego.  I found a great job.  The girls were both pregnant!  Wow… everything was falling into place.  Just when we were settling in and getting comfortable… God noticed and decided to wake us up and give us a challenge!  Challenges are good… keeps you on your toes!  Right? 

Monday was my last post.  In that post I was boasting how well Patty was doing from the last chemo infusion.  Last Saturday she was down for the count with fatigue.  Sunday, she was up and doing great.  But… Monday came here and the fatigue decided Patty wasn’t tired enough so he had his way with her.  She was down again for all of Monday and most of Tuesday.  She started getting her strength back on Wednesday and by the end of Thursday she was tired, but almost back to normal.  She’s been having little bouts with nausea but anti-nausea med’s seem to help quickly.  Today she seems to be doing great. 

Patty had an appointment with the Reconstruction Surgeon this past Tuesday.  He said everything was looking great other than the fact that the incision hasn’t healed 100%.  (it seems to be taking forever!)  The good thing is that he cleared her to start Jazzercise again, but low impact.  She’s ok with that.  But, since the incision isn’t 100% healed, he won’t let her use the pool!  Too bad since this week the weather has been in the mid to high 90’s with high humidity. 

We met with another Radiologist Oncologist yesterday.  He was very very thorough with us.  He used the paper that covers the exam table in the room as his drawing pad and gave us a Cancer 101 crash course!  He explained in layman’s terms everything one needed to know about breast cancer.  From how they find it, ultra-sound it, diagnose it, grade it, stage it, chemo it, radiate it… etc.  The bottom line in this appointment came at the end when he said: “In my opinion, you don’t need radiation therapy!”  That was great news and we’re happy Patty doesn’t need to extend her treatment any more than necessary.  If everything goes according to plan, December 14th will come around with her last chemo infusion then it’s back to healing and taking our lives off hold!  We pray that it stays that way! 

So, since Patty’s feeling pretty good today, and you know Patty, she jumped at the chance to go back to her love, Jazzercise!  She took a low impact class and absolutely loved it.  Everyone was really happy to see her back!  She then flew home, showered and met Nicole at the movies (some chick flick!)  She ran over to Kohl’s after the movie and bought a new pair of jeans (since she’s swimming in all her old jeans because she’s lost so much weight) and came home.

Speaking of weight… Patty’s probably lost about 20+ pounds over this whole ordeal.  She lost weight going through the initial diagnosis phase due to stress and anxiety.  Now she’s losing weight because her “taster” is all out of whack and food doesn’t taste good to her.  You’d think she’d stop losing weight with all the root beer floats and smoothies she’s consuming!  But, nope! 

Overall, the chemo is taking its toll on her, but once we’re at about 10 to 12 days into it following the infusion, she does great.  Her taster should start coming back by Sunday or Monday, then I’m going to do some serious cooking for her!

One thought on “T.G.I.F.!!!

  1. Ed:

    I know what you mean about being thrown for a loop in life. I was severely sick at the beginning of last year with respiratory issues and just as I got well, a few months later my dad ended up in the hospital and passed. It’s coming up on the 1 year anniversary. When New Year’s hit, it was a very emotional one. I never cried at the New Year but this past one I did. I heard a voice telling me that this year would be a “good one”. I guess it’s all in the perspective because 3 months later after my dad, my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer. Good? Right! Well, now I’m seeing the blessing in disquise. God put us on this path for a reason and now that there is a co-worker who has breast cancer and is an older lady, I feel like I can help with little things that work and what to expect (you know, the things that the doctor doesn’t really elaborate on or that stack of books that you take that crash course on Cancer 101 like you said) but I’m glad and honored I can try to help someone else.

    That is GREAT news about Patty not needing Radiation. My mom has an appointment tomorrow with the oncologist and should start radiation next week. We’re happy it’s not more chemo. So…to each his own.

    I’m so glad to hear Patty got out to a chick flick and shopping. I know taking my mom shopping for a few things just brightened her up. Hey Patty, was the movie “Eat Pray & Love” or was it the new one out about the Godparents and the baby?

    Take care. Thoughts and prayers are going your way!

Leave a Reply

