We knew it was too good to be true!


As you know, Patty had her first chemo this past Tuesday.  She did remarkably well through the process.  She has been feeling great this entire week… then yesterday hit.  Wham!  Like a freight train!  She woke up feeling a little tired and as the day progressed that feeling turned into big time fatigue with, as the doctors and nurses predicted, “flu-like symptoms.”  (By the way, the phrase “flu-like symptoms” doesn’t give it any credit.)  I got home a little early yesterday, around 2:00 p.m.  Patty was sitting on the sofa and you could see in her eyes that she wasn’t feeling well at all.  I brought her pillows and she crashed for a good 1 1/2 to 2 hour nap.  She woke up feeling better, but not 100%.   I could see her doing better as the evening progressed, hoping that she had turned the corner.  This morning she woke up feeling really well!  She said she wants to get on the treadmill this morning before we start our day!  That’s  a good sign!

So, we know what to expect in future treatments.  They say that the chemo will build up over each treatment and the symptoms get stronger.  So be it.  She still has a very positive attitude and she knows she’s getting better!

Monday, Sept 6th.  Ok… so I had to add to this post.  We were hoping she had turned the corner, but we were wrong.  She woke up Saturday morning feeling pretty good.  She actually went on the treadmill and walked two miles!  I was impressed.  She returned from the gym saying she felt pretty good, but a little nauseous.  She took a nausea pill and everything seemed to go away.  But, I could see her sinking as the day went on.  Her eyes don’t lie!  Early afternoon, she told me that she didn’t want to be cooped up in the condo.  (that condo can feel pretty confining!)  We decided to take a drive over to Coronado, be by the beach, and have a late lunch over at the Hotel Del.  We almost made it, then Patty told me she didn’t feel well so we turned around and headed for home.  We did stop in Rancho Bernardo and had lunch at Islands.  Food really helped her.  She ate a good lunch and seemed to be on the mend again.  We went home and as the evening approached, she wasn’t feeling well again.  We had a very quiet night.

She woke up Sunday feeling pretty good.  We got up  and had  a light breakfast.  I’d ask how she was feeling and if you know Patty she’ll always say “I’m fine.   I’m sure Patty was wondering what was up with me as I kept staring at her trying to size up how she was really feeling.  As I said, her eyes tell it all.  We showered and dressed and headed off to church.  (Church is always a good thing for us as it takes our mind off of any troubles we have!)  On the way Patty said: “I don’t understand it.”   She continued: “When you’re diagnosed with cancer, you physically feel fine.  You feel normal.  You can do anything.  But when they treat you for cancer, you feel horrible, physically and mentally!”  It’s so true!  We returned home from church and I asked if she wanted to go out somewhere for the afternoon.  She looked at me with those big blue eyes of hers and apologized, saying she just didn’t have it in her to go anywhere or do anything.  That was ok.  Patty  then went into the bedroom and took a good two-hour, if not longer, nap.  I cleaned the deck, watered the plants and watched the Padres lose their 10th game in a row!  (That’s another blog!)

Patty was able to go for a short outing with me to the grocery store and that was about it.  We had another quiet night at home.

I’m hoping today (Monday) will be a better day for Patty.  We’re both learning just how powerful chemo really is.  I just want her to feel better.  I know each day will get better for her, but the question is… when???

4 thoughts on “We knew it was too good to be true!

  1. Patty and Ed,

    Just want you to know I am thinking of you both…keeping you in my prayers. I know this part of the treatment won’t be easy and you will not feel great Patty….but I have friends who have been through this and are doing great now…just like YOU will!!!
    I saw the pictures of you up on stage speaking (back in Aug)….that is awesome Patty! I am positive you made a huge impression on everyone there.
    Anyway, just wanted to say hi…and that I think of you both every day!!
    XXOO

  2. Hang in there Patty. We are all cheering you on and praying that the worst is over and you have only Good News ahead. Ed’s Blog is amazing and I am sharing it with many of my friends that don’t even know you. Our church has you on the prayer list and you are in our thoughts every single day. Hope today is a good day for you.

    Hugs,
    Ginger

  3. Patty (and Ed):

    Hang in there! You are covered in so many prayers and it’s okay to say you are not 100% or just want to rest. Resting does the body the good. The people who love and care for you are just glad they can be there for whatever, whenever. I’m sending you both a big hug as that is what I’m feeling right now for you both.

  4. Hi Ed –
    You posted a comment on my blog, so thought I’d reply and say “hello!” Is it okay if I add a link to your blog on my page? It’s great to “meet” some other people in the San Diego area.

    I hope Patty is feeling better day by day. What treatment is she receiving? Days 4 and 5 were definitely my worst days this first round. I did not go anywhere until today (day 7), and that was only for a 15-minute round trip to pick up my son at school.

    Anyway, nice to “meet” you two. I appreciate the prayers too and will keep you in mine as well.

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

